2019 Nyc Electroacoustic Improvisation Summit

2019 NYC Electroacoustic Improvisation Summit
Feb 22

2019 Nyc Electroacoustic Improvisation Summit

Map Location

We are pleased to announce the program for the 4th annual New York City Electroacoustic Improvisation Summit (https://eis.nyc), a concert series featuring music by artists focused on the integration of music improvisation and real-time interactive computer systems.Concerts will take place at CUNY City Tech's Voorhees Theater, 186 Jay Street, Brooklyn, NY (Google map).CONCERT 1: Friday, February 22, 2019, 7:00 PM Sofy Yuditskaya, Margaret Schedel, and Jess Rowland : Markov Magic Circles (Markov process-mediated performance and projection) Kalun Leung : Spatial Granulator for Solo Augmented Trombone ("MuBone" extended trombone-driven granular synthesis) Kevin Patton and Joe Hertenstein : Cast Down Thither (percussion, processed through "BrundleFly" modular DSP software) Erich Barganier and Esther Lamneck : Light Shards (tárogató-driven granular synthesis) Artist panel discussion, moderated by Adam James Wilson CONCERT 2: Saturday, February 23, 2019, 7:00 PM Scott Barton : Experiment in Augmentation 1 (robotic zither—Cyther—and modular percussion robots) Nicolas Collins : !trumpet (2018) (for software-propelled trumpet) Kerry Hagan and John Bowers of The Bowers Hagan Duo (various synthesis algorithms driven with multiple game controllers) Seth Thorn : Windowless (violin, with "alto.glove" controller-driven processing of live samples) Arto Artinian, Killick Hinds, and Adam James Wilson of Pitch Prefect (fretless electric guitars by Rick Toone, Haken Continuum Fingerboard, and a semi-autonomous software improvisation agent) Artist panel discussion, moderated by Kevin Patton Concerts are free and open to the public, with a suggested donation of $10 to the City Tech Foundation.NYC EIS alumni include Kerry Hagan, Miller Puckette, Jeff Kaiser, Lauren Sarah Hayes, Cort Lippe, Esther Lamneck, Douglas Geers, Maja Cerar, Kristina Warren, Thomas Ciufo, Curtis Bahn, Jonghyun Kim, Jaimie Branch, Kevin Patton, Doug Van Nort, Nick Demopoulos, Chapman Welch, Brandon Bell, Eric Lyon, Pauline Kim Harris, Arto Artinian, Adam James Wilson, Nikki D'Agostino, Paul Botelho, Margaret Schedel, Christopher Howard, Dafna Naphtali, Jen Baker, Lyn Goeringer, Chris Peck, Erin Rogers, Joe Cantrell, and David Borgo.Visit https://eis.nyc for more information.Find us on Facebook at:https://www.facebook.com/NYCElectroacousticImprovisationSummit/Read Eric Lyon's review of the inaugural NYC Electroacoustic Improvisation Summit (2016) in the 2017 issue of Array, the journal of the International Computer Music Association.Subscribe to the NYC EIS mailing list. More Info

when: February 22 @ 7pm - 9pm
where: Voorhees Theater, 186 Jay Street, Brooklyn, NY, 11201 (map)
price: Free
category: Music



An error has occurred